Alpha Covenant Holdings › Record › Nelnet, Inc.
Public record report · plain HTML, no scripts · rendered 2026-09-24 11:04 UTC · match: company-field match (high) · interactive version
| Company, as filed with the CFPB | Nelnet, Inc. |
|---|---|
| Complaints received, last 12 months | 6,684 |
| Complaints received, prior 12 months | 7,042 |
| Change | -5.1% |
| Top issues (12 mo) | Incorrect information on your report · 2,344<br>Dealing with your lender or servicer · 1,728<br>Problem with a company's investigation into an existing problem · 860<br>Struggling to repay your loan · 567<br>Improper use of your report · 429 |
| Closed complaints (12 mo) | 6,700 |
| Closed with relief | 0 (0.0% of closed) |
| Closed with explanation only | 6,700 |
| Responded after 15 days | 0.1% |
| Still open ('In progress') | 7 · oldest waiting 37 days |
Source: CFPB Consumer Complaint Database, company search · fetched 2026-09-24 06:05:28 UTC
Complaints received by the CFPB and sent to the company, by date received. Of complaints received in the last 12 months that the company has closed, the share closed with monetary or non-monetary relief. Denominator is CLOSED complaints, not complaints received. CFPB status 'In progress' — no final response yet. A status, not a finding.
| Complaints, recent 90 days | 1,166 (prior 90 days 1,815) |
|---|---|
| Timely responses, recent 90 days | 100.0% (prior 99.8%) |
| Open now vs baseline | 7 now |
| Improvement rule met | No rule met in this window |
| First documented | — |
| Windows | recent 2026-06-26 → 2026-09-24 · prior 2026-03-28 → 2026-06-26 |
Source: CFPB Consumer Complaint Database (Correction Ledger formula ledger-2026-06-v1) · fetched 2026-09-24 01:05:40 UTC
The Ledger documents measured change in the public record against a fixed formula. It is not a rating and cannot be purchased.
| Colorado Secretary of State — Business Entities | Nelnet Academic Private Loan Warehouse - I, LLC, Colorado Authority Relinquished August 10, 2012 · Withdrawn · FLLC · formed in DE · filed 2006-01-17 · ID 20061026714 Nelnet Business Solutions, Inc. · Good Standing · FPC · formed in NE · filed 1997-02-27 · ID 19971029963 NELNET CORPORATE SERVICES, INC., Colorado Authority Relinquished March 7, 2007 · Withdrawn · FPC · formed in Nevada · filed 2002-04-26 · ID 20021109794 Nelnet Government Services, LLC · Good Standing · FLLC · formed in NE · filed 2021-08-11 · ID 20211737430 Nelnet Guarantor Solutions, LLC, Colorado Authority Relinquished December 31, 2016 · Withdrawn · FLLC · formed in FL · filed 2006-01-23 · ID 20061033430 NELNET, INC. · Good Standing · FPC · formed in Nebraska · filed 1982-03-04 · ID 19871467031 NELNET MARKETING SOLUTIONS, INC., Colorado Authority Relinquished March 2, 2006 · Withdrawn · FPC · formed in FL · filed 2002-10-08 · ID 20021279054 Nelnet Servicing, LLC · Good Standing · FLLC · formed in Nebraska · filed 2009-01-28 · ID 20091055640 all entities on file (active and inactive) · official source · fetched 2026-09-24T11:04:36 UTC |
|---|---|
| New York Department of State — Active Corporations | NELNET 85 RESOURCES INC. · Listed in Active Corporations dataset · DOMESTIC BUSINESS CORPORATION · formed in New York · filed 2023-02-03 · ID 6722941 NELNET BUSINESS SOLUTIONS, INC. · Listed in Active Corporations dataset · FOREIGN BUSINESS CORPORATION · formed in Nebraska · filed 1994-03-16 · ID 1803864 NELNET GOVERNMENT SERVICES, LLC · Listed in Active Corporations dataset · FOREIGN LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY · formed in Nebraska · filed 2026-06-18 · ID 7947669 NELNET, INC. · Listed in Active Corporations dataset · FOREIGN BUSINESS CORPORATION · formed in Nebraska · filed 2009-11-18 · ID 3879981 NELNET INC SVC · Listed in Active Corporations dataset · DOMESTIC BUSINESS CORPORATION · formed in New York · filed 2020-07-21 · ID 5793525 NELNET NYC LLC · Listed in Active Corporations dataset · DOMESTIC LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY · formed in New York · filed 2020-09-08 · ID 5829826 NELNET SERVICING, LLC · Listed in Active Corporations dataset · FOREIGN LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY · formed in Nebraska · filed 2019-09-30 · ID 5629674 ACTIVE entities only — an entity that is not listed may be inactive, dissolved, or never registered in NY · official source · fetched 2026-09-24T11:04:37 UTC |
| Connecticut Secretary of the State — Business Registry | Nelnet Business Solutions, Inc. · Active · Stock · formed in NEBRASKA · filed 2022-06-29 · ID 2591152 NELNET MENTOR, LLC · Cancelled · LLC · formed in NE · filed 2004-11-05 · ID 0801309 NELNET SERVICING, LLC · Active · LLC · formed in NE · filed 2016-07-18 · ID 1211797 all entities on file (active and inactive) · official source · fetched 2026-09-24T11:04:37 UTC |
Rows are copied verbatim from the state's published business registry. Matched on legal name prefix — a name match is not proof it is the same company. Registry status describes the state filing, not operating authority or safety. Most states publish no open dataset; use the official search link.
Automated check not active (SAM_API_KEY not configured — check the official list directly.). Search the official exclusions list
SAM.gov Exclusions are the federal list of parties suspended, debarred, or otherwise excluded from federal awards. Listed / not listed is a name match on the official record; a name match is not proof of identity, and 'not listed' is not a clearance. Buyers verify against SAM.gov directly before award.
OSHA inspections (5 yr): 2 · Wage & Hour cases (5 yr): 0
OSHA inspection and Wage & Hour case records as published by the Department of Labor, matched on establishment/trade name (name match, not tax ID). An inspection is not a violation; a case is what WHD found and assessed, as recorded. Not a rating of the employer.
6 open prime contract(s) · $661,622,065 obligated to date
91003124F0321 · $392,438,575 · Department of Education · ends 2027-03-31
91003126F0022 · $208,445,849 · Department of Education · ends 2026-12-31
91003124F0301 · $52,223,007 · Department of Education · ends 2027-03-31
Federal recipient identity (as registered in SAM.gov, published by USAspending):
NELNET SERVICING LLC · UEI MNXKQ62J7AE8 · parent recipient listed on the USAspending profile (may include prior registrations): NELNET, INC. (UEI KTRMNBLJ1E18) · counted
PETERSON'S, LLC · UEI VFPBLYHZA1M3 · parent recipient listed on the USAspending profile (may include prior registrations): NELNET, INC. (UEI KTRMNBLJ1E18) · returned by the name search but not counted
Source: USAspending.gov (U.S. Treasury), prime awards with an open period of performance; counted only where the registered recipient name equals or begins with the searched name (method 2026-06c) · fetched 2026-09-24 11:04:43 UTC
123 federal docket(s) filed since 09/23/2025 naming this party · 44 civil · 56 bankruptcy-related
Nature of suit: Not coded 23, Consumer credit / FCRA / FDCPA 12, Other 5, Other statutes / administrative 3, Contract 1 · CourtListener search
A docket is a filing, not a finding. Coverage is partial (CourtListener/RECAP federal courts only; no state courts). Party matched by name.
Covenant Index 93 · grade A · formula 2026-09-14c
Computed index for companies and institutions; the public Record leads with the facts above. Components: Federal complaint trend vs market (CFPB) 3; Relief rate vs market (CFPB) -10; Missed 15-day response window (CFPB) 0; Product safety recalls (24 months) 0; Federal court records 0. Formula and version history.
| 1. Company complaints, last 12 months (hits.total.value) | 6684 · open call |
|---|---|
| 2. Company complaints, prior 12 months | 7042 · open call |
| 3. Company change % = (step1 − step2) ÷ step2 × 100 | -5.1 |
| 4. ALL CFPB complaints, last 12 months | 6901642 · open call |
| 5. ALL CFPB complaints, prior 12 months | 4749611 · open call |
| 6. Market change % = (step4 − step5) ÷ step5 × 100 | 45.3 |
| 7. Excess = step3 − step6 (points vs market) | -50.4 |
| 8. Trend points: needs ≥20 complaints; excess ≤ −10 → +3 · < +10 → 0 · < +25 → −5 · < +50 → −10 · else −15 | 3 |
| 9. Company closed with monetary relief, last 365 days | not stated · open call |
| 10. Company closed with non-monetary relief, last 365 days (step9 + step10 = relief) | 0 · open call |
| 11. Company closed with explanation, last 365 days | 6677 · open call |
| 12. Relief % = relief ÷ (relief + explanation) × 100 | 0.0 |
| 13. Market relief % of closed (company_response buckets in step 4's aggregations) | 31.6 |
| 14. Relief points: gap = step12 − step13; ≥ +10 → +5 · > −5 → 0 · > −15 → −5 · else −10 | -10 |
| 15. Company complaints answered late (timely=No), last 365 days | not stated · open call |
| 16. Company complaints total, last 365 days; late % = step15 ÷ step16 × 100 | 0.1 · open call |
| 17. Market late % (timely buckets in step 4's aggregations) | 0.41 |
| 18. Late points: ≥ 5% → −5 · ≥ 3× market (min 1%) → −2 · else 0 | 0 |
| 19. FDA enforcement recalls naming the firm, 24 months | 0 · open call |
| 20. CPSC recalls with this manufacturer, 24 months | 0 · open call |
| 21. Recall points = −5 per matched recall, floor −15 | 0 |
| 22. Federal court records (shown, never scored) | 1171 · open call |
| 23. FDIC BankFind ACTIVE flag (+2 if an active insured institution; otherwise no component) | not stated · open call |
| 24. Score = 100 + all points, clamped 0–100; grade A ≥ 90 · B ≥ 80 · C ≥ 70 · D ≥ 60 · else F | 93 |
Every input below is a public API call anyone can open. Counts move as the CFPB adds complaints, so re-running later gives the numbers as of that day; the arithmetic is fixed by the formula version.